DOWLAND – Michael Butten, classical guitar

£12.00 + P&P

In stock

‘His playing is tastefully dramatic’ (Fanfare Magazine)
FHR84 Categories: ,


Released: 3 May 2019

Michael Butten classical guitar

John DOWLAND (1563–1626)
1. Preludium
2. A Fancy in E minor
3. Lord Strang’s March
4. Lachrimae Pavan
5. The Frog Galliard
6. Fantasy in E major
7. Sir John Smith’s Almain
8. Can She Excuse?
9. Forlorne Hope Fancy
10. Lady Clifton’s Spirit
11. Mrs White’s Thing
12. Mrs White’s Nothing
13. Tremolo Fancy
14. Loth to Depart
15. Lady Hunsdon’s Puffe
16. Mrs Winters Jump
17. Fancy in B minor
18. Queen Elizabeth’s Galliard
19. The Shoemaker’s Wife
20. Farewell

Recorded at Holy Trinity Church, Weston, Hertfordshire, UK, 30 October – 1 November 2016
Engineered and produced by John Taylor
24bit, 96kHz hi-resolution recording and mastering
Photos taken by Timothy Ellis
Artwork by David Murphy (FHR)
Booklet notes by Graham Wade

Press Quotes

“Butten’s selection allows him to demonstrate further his control and skill, at the same time as bringing out the depths of expression in this fabulous music… (Classical Notes)

Butten showcases beautiful articulations, phrasing, and sweet resonant tone colours throughout. A sensitive touch on the instrument and rhythmic energy to match, this is an excellent interpretation of Dowland’s works.”  (

His playing of that masterpiece, Lachrimae Pavan, is as sweetly mournful as can be, yet one notices his delicate use of dynamics, the slight crescendos, the way he opens certain phrases insistently and then falls away. For all its subtleties, Butten’s playing seems natural, even unobtrusive… The sound of his guitar is rich, the playing both graceful and full-bodied. His playing is tastefully dramatic… (Fanfare Magazine)

Twenty short works by Dowland – each a gem and worthy of careful attention in its own right. The classical guitar brings a different tonal quality compared to the more familiar lute for these pieces and therefore brings a more nuanced perspective and demands a careful listener, which hopefully they will get.(Lark Reviews)

“…Butten rises to these challenges with an effortless feel. Overall, this is an excellent portrayal of Dowland’s music. (American Record Guide)