History of the Salon – Morceaux caractéristiques, 1823 – 1910

£10.99 + P&P

A fascinating and varied selection of 24 treasures, written for violin and piano over a span of nearly a hundred years. Many were highly popular in the early days of acoustic recordings, but have now almost completely fallen out of fashion. Revisiting these brilliantly written pieces gives the listener a deeper understanding of popular musical styles and tastes in the 19th century. A number of the pieces will be première recordings.

Released late 2019
FHR80 Categories: , ,


Vaughan Jones violin
Rebecca Holt piano