Dreams – popular Azerbaijani songs by Tofig GULIYEV (arr. violin & guitar)

+ P&P

This album showcases a flamboyant collection of 20th-century Azerbaijani popular song classics, fusing Western traditions, Azerbaijani folk music, and American jazz. The popular and classical oriental and Western themes and approaches in these new transcriptions and arrangements aim to capture the rich harmonies, lyricism and nostalgic intensity of the songs to perfection, while bringing out an equally virtuosic dialogue between the violin and guitar.

Released 6 August 2021
FHR115D Categories: , , ,


Released on digital platforms only including Apple Music, Spotify, Amazon, IDAGIO etc

Nazrin Rashidova violin
Stanislav Hvartchilkov guitar

Tofig GULIYEV (1917–2000)
1.  Golden Ring
2. Our Orchard
3. Evening Song
4. Darling
5. I Became Fortunate
6. A Song of Friendship
7. Dear Visage
8. Waltz of Love
9. Sad Song
10. A Song About Baku
11. Dreams
12. Friendly Country, Azerbaijan
13. Lyrical Song
14. Your Beauty Will Not Last Forever
15. Zibeyda

Rauf HAJIYEV (1922–1995)
16. Beloved

17. Fair Bride

Gara GARAYEV (1918–1982)
18. Path of Thunder: Girls’ Dance

All tracks transcribed and arranged by Nazrin Rashidova and Stanislav Hvartchilkov