Smock Alley – Irlandiani (GIORDANI • GEMINIANI et al)

£12.00 + P&P

‘This album draws inspiration from the musical life of 18th century Dublin at the Smock Alley Theatre and its neighbourhood; exploring connections between Italian and Irish musicians working there with the atmospheric, rich and earthy sound of multiple bass instruments.’

In stock

Released 15 September 2023
FHR144 Categories: , ,


Released: 15 September 2023

Smock Alley

Carina Drury baroque cello
Poppy Walshaw baroque cello
John-Henry Baker violone, percussion
Nathaniel Mander harpsichord
Eimear McGeown Irish flute

1.  Gallaway’s Lament (from A Collection of the Most Celebrated Irish Tunes, pub. 1764)

Francis IRELAND (HUTCHESON) (1721–1784)
2. To Sleep

Tommaso GIORDANI (1730–1806)
Six Duos for Two Cellos, Op. 18 (pub. c. 1780):
Sonata No. 1 in B major
3. I. Poco allegro
4. II. Tempo di minuetto

Sonata No. 2 in F major
5. I. Moderato
6. II. Allegro (Tamborino)

Sonata No. 3 in C major
7. I. Un poco allegro
8. II. Giga

Thomas ROSEINGRAVE (1688–1766)
9. Introduction to Scarlatti’s Lessons

Domenico SCARLATTI (1685–1757)
10. Keyboard Sonata in G major, K13 (pub. 1738)
11. Keyboard Sonata in G minor, K30 (pub. 1738)

Six Duos for Two Cellos, Op. 18:
Sonata No. 4 in G major
12. I. Allegro moderato
13. II. Rondo

Sonata No. 5 in D major
14. I. Andante
15. II. Minuetto

Sonata No. 6 in A major
15. I. Cantabile
16. II. Allegro

17. Prelude for Keyboard in A major, Op. 33, No. 11 (c. 1785)

Francesco GEMINIANI (1687–1762)
Cello Sonata in A Major, Op. 5, No. 1 (pub. 1746)
18. I. Andante
19. II. Allegro
20. III. Andante
21. IV. Allegro

22. Eileen Aroon (from A New and Complete Tutor for the Violoncello, pub. 1785)
23. Molly St George (from 12 Irish and 12 Scotch Airs with Variations, pub. 1748)
24. Rakes of Westmeath (from 12 Irish and 12 Scotch Airs with Variations)

Carina DRURY
25. Caoineadh (based on the melody from the Irish air Caoineadh na dTrí Muire)

Produced by Tom Mungall
Recorded and edited by John Croft (Chiaro Audio)
Album cover image by Matthew James Robins
Artwork by Luke Avery

We are very grateful to the Continuo Foundation for the funding which made this recording possible.

Press Quotes

‘a paragon of tasteful and expressive performance’ (Early Music Review)

‘This is a delightful disc, giving a glimpse into the lively musical life of 18th-century Dublin’  (Planet Hugill)

‘Both she (Carina Drury) and Poppy Walshaw play the duos and sonatas with sensitivity and conviction. Fine playing, too, by Nathaniel Mander on harpsichord. The recorded sound… is warm and well-balanced’  (****/**** BBC Music Magazine)

‘The recording reveals a fascinating peek into the little-known musical life of Dublin and is well worth a listen.’ (Andrew Benson-Wilson, Early Music Reviews)

‘The album is truly fascinating. It allows you to both learn about the little-known musical life of old Dublin and enjoy the wonderful chamber music skills of the Irlandiani band. I’m adding Carina Drury and her company to my favourites.’ (CD of the Week – W Kulturalny Sposób)